Data on Independent Cities

Since the USACA Award started, counties that have been absorbed include Prince Ann, Norfolk and Nansemond in Virginia; Ormsby in Nevada; and Washabaugh in South Dakota. Carson City, Nevada is now considered an Independent City. Richmond County, NY is now called Staten Island County and Shannon County, SD was renamed Oglala Lakota, County. Three new counties have been added: Cibola, New Mexico, La Paz, Arizona and Broomfield, Colorado. Thus we now have 3077 counties.

Counties in which an Independent City can be used:

Carson City, Nevada - Douglas -or- Lyon -or- Story -or- Washoe

Washington, DC - Montgomery, MD -or- Prince Georges, MD

Virginia:

Alexandria - Arlington -or- Fairfax

Bedford – Bedford

Bristol – Washington

Buena Vista – Rockbridge

Charlottesville – Albemarle

Chesapeake - Isle of Wight

Clifton Forge – Alleghany

Colonial Heights – Chesterfield -or- Prince George

Covington – Alleghany

Danville – Pittsylvania

Emporia – Greensville

Fairfax – Fairfax

Falls Church – Fairfax

Fort Monroe – York

Franklin – Southampton

Fredericksburg – Spotsylvania

Galax – Carroll -or- Grayson

Hampton – York

Harrisonburg – Rockingham

Hopewell - Prince George

Lexington – Rockbridge

Lynchburg – Amherst -or- Bedford -or- Campbell

Manassas – Prince William

Manassas Park - Prince William

Martinsville – Henry

Newport News – York

Norfolk – Isle of Wight

Norton – Wise

Petersburg – Chesterfield -or- Dinwiddie -or- Prince George

Poquoson – York

Portsmouth – Isle of Wight

Radford - Montgomery

Richmond - Chesterfield -or- Henrico

Roanoke – Roanoke

Salem – Roanoke

South Boston – Halifax

Staunton – Augusta

Suffolk – Isle of Wight -or- Southampton

Virginia Beach -Isle of Wight

Waynesboro – Augusta

Williamsburg – James City

Winchester - Frederick